The Most Amazing Premier League Facts Ever

Enjoy the exciting collection of the most amazing Premier League facts Ever 

It is currently sponsored by Barclays Bank and thus officially known as the Barclays Premier League. Outside England, it is commonly referred to as the English Premier League (EPL).

The Premier League is the most-watched football league in the world, broadcast in 212 territories to 643 million homes and a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people.

The Premier League is particularly popular in Asia, where it is the most widely distributed sports programme.

Manchester United have been the most successful team, winning 13 titles.

Of the 46 clubs to have competed since the inception of the Premier League in 1992, only five have won the title: Manchester United (13), Arsenal (3), Chelsea (3), Manchester City (2) and Blackburn Rovers (1).

The current champions are Manchester City, who won the title in the 2013–14 season.

Popular Posts

The Most Fascinating EPL Facts Of Last Season

The Most Incredible Manchester City's EPL Statistics

Top Ten Premier League Predictions For 2014-15 Season

The first ever Premier League goal was scored by Brian Deane of Sheffield United in a 2–1 win against Manchester United.

Arsenal and Manchester United were the only two side that had never fallen outside of the top four once until the 2013-14 season when Manchester United could just manage a 7th place finish.

Only seven clubs have been members of the Premier League for every season since its inception: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur.

The first Premier League match to be played outside England was Swansea City's home match against Wigan Athletic at the Liberty Stadium on 20 August 2011.

The league's longest-serving manager was Alex Ferguson, who was in charge of Manchester United from November 1986 until his retirement at the end of the 2012–13 season, meaning that he was manager for all of the first 21 seasons of the Premier League.

Arsène Wenger is now the league's longest-serving current manager, having been in charge of Arsenal in the Premier League since 1996.

More Premier League Facts

No English manager has won the Premier League; the eight managers to have won the title comprise two Scots: Alex Ferguson (Manchester United, 13 wins) and Kenny Dalglish (Blackburn Rovers, one win), a Frenchman (Arsène Wenger, Arsenal, three wins), a Portuguese (José Mourinho, Chelsea, two wins), a Chilean (Manuel Pellegrini, Manchester City, one win) and two Italians (Carlo Ancelotti, Chelsea, and Roberto Mancini, Manchester City, one win each).

Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs holds the record number of Premier League appearances and he also has 13 Premier League champion's medals, more than any other player.

Chelsea were the first Premier League side to field an entirely foreign starting line-up, while Arsenal were the first to name a completely foreign 16-man squad for a match.

Fernando Torres moved from Liverpool to Chelsea for £50 million in a deal that remains the British transfer record paid for a player.

The record transfer in the sport's history had a Premier League club on the selling end, with Tottenham Hotspur accepting an £85 million bid from Real Madrid for Gareth Bale in September 2013.

Former Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United striker Alan Shearer scored 260 goals to hold the record for most Premier League goals. Shearer won the top scorer title three times.

He was also the first player to score 100 Premier League goals. Since then, 22 other players have reached the 100-goal mark.

Thierry Henry won his third consecutive and fourth overall scoring title by scoring 27 goals in the 2005–06 season, surpassing Shearer's mark of three consecutive titles.

Only Ryan Giggs of Manchester United has scored in all the first 21 seasons.

The highest-scoring match to date in the Premier League occurred on 29 September 2007 when Portsmouth beat Reading 7–4

The first ever hat-trick of the Premier League was scored by Eric Cantona.

Thierry Henry scored eight hat-tricks for Arsenal between 2000 and 2007, second only to Alan Shearer’s eleven.

Four Nigerians have scored Premier league hattricks; they are Efan Ekoku, Peter Odemwiengie, Yakubu Aiyegbeni and Nwankwo Kanu.

Kevin Phillips is the last English player – as of the 2013–14 season – to earn the EPL Golden Boot.

Phillips, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez have won the European Golden Shoe in the same season as the Premier League Golden Boot, with Henry achieving this on two occasions (2004 and 2005).

Shearer, Hasselbaink and Van Persie are the only players to win the Golden Boot with two different clubs.

Edwin van der Saar at 40 years, 205 days old is the oldest player to win the Premier League, while Gaël Clichy is the youngest at 18 years, 294 days.

Arsenal legend, Ian Wright, is the first whose son, Shaun Wright-Phillips, has also won.

Adebayor scored his second hat-trick for Arsenal after coming off the bench at half time in a 6–2 victory against Derby County, making him the only player in the Premiership's history to score a hat-trick home and away against the same side in the same season.

Posts You May Also Like

Van Gaal's 5 Biggest Manchester United Headaches

Little Known Facts About Alexis Sanchez

Premier League Managers Sacked in 2013-14